College of Nursing dean named American Thoracic Society Fellow 

Dr. Jill Guttormson, dean of the College of Nursing, has been named an ATS Fellow by the American Thoracic Society, the world’s leading medical society dedicated to accelerating the advancement of global respiratory health through multidisciplinary collaboration, education and advocacy. 

The ATS Fellow designation — ATSF — is a mark of distinction that recognizes the accomplishments, dedication and contributions of ATS members to the Society and the fields of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine. 

“I’m immensely grateful to the American Thoracic Society for this recognition and the role the society has played in my research and professional development,” Guttormson said. “The ATS members are leaders in respiratory and critical care, and I’m humbled to be recognized. I would like to thank my peers and mentors for the role they played in this honor.” 

Guttormson’s research focuses on supporting best practices in critical care nursing and symptom management and patient communication during mechanical ventilation with the goal of enhancing patient-centered care and the patient experience.  

Guttormson was named permanent dean of the College of Nursing in November 2022 after a 10-month tenure as acting dean following the retirement of Dr. Janet Krejci. Guttormson previously served as associate dean for academic affairs and has chaired the College of Nursing Undergraduate Curriculum Committee, the University Board of Undergraduate Studies and the University Committee on Teaching. She was recognized in 2018 by the university for her commitment to teaching, receiving the Rev. John P. Raynor, S.J., Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence.