University Academic Senate elects new senators and Executive Committee

University Academic Senate (UAS) recently held elections for senate positions and the Executive Committee.

The following positions were voted on in various elections (elections run by each college/school, at-large elections run by the Committee on Committees and Elections and the Executive Committee elections).

The below winners began their terms at the Monday, May 4, University Academic Senate meeting.

New senators:

  • Noelle Brigden | Department of Political Science
    Regular faculty elected at large

  • Atiba Ellis | Law School
    Elected by Law School faculty
  • Grace Wang | Department of Economics
    Elected by College of Business Administration faculty
  • David Wangrow | Department of Management
    Elected by College of Business Administration faculty

  • Amber Wichowsky | Department of Political Science
    Regular faculty elected at large

Returning senators:

  • Joseph Domblesky | Department of Mechanical Engineering
    Elected by College of Engineering faculty
  • Kim Factor | Department of Mathematics and Statistical Sciences
    Elected by College of Arts and Sciences
  • Marilyn Frenn | College of Nursing
    Elected by College of Nursing faculty

  • Luke Togni | Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
    Part-time faculty elected at large

The Executive Committee is led by the presiding chair of the UAS and co-chaired by the provost. The other members of the Executive Committee include the UAS vice chair, chair of Faculty Council, UAS secretary, one dean (elected by and from UAS dean members) and two faculty (elected annually by the full UAS from its membership).

Newly elected members to the Executive Committee:

  • Sumana Chattopadhyay, chair
  • Allison Abbott, vice chair
  • Rebecca Blemberg, secretary
  • Janice Welburn, dean
  • Amber Wichowsky, faculty from UAS
  • Patrick Loftis, faculty from UAS

Dr. Alexandra Crampton will begin her term as chair of Faculty Council and a member of the Executive Committee in August.

“Shared governance fosters a climate of greater transparency on campus and builds trust among the various campus stakeholders,” Dr. Chattopadhyay said. “Both transparency and trust will be much needed during the next few months as we navigate the challenges and uncertainties posed by COVID-19. One of the goals of UAS during the upcoming academic year will therefore be to better communicate information pertaining to the work that UAS is doing on campus – particularly in relation to key decisions impacting the faculty and students. Other goals are to develop stronger dialogue with university leaders and to bring in more people into the shared governance process.”