Three Arts and Sciences professors receive 2020 Way Klingler Teaching Enhancement Award

Three professors in the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences were named the 2020 Way Klingler Teaching Enhancement Award recipients:

  • Dr. Darren Wheelock, associate professor of social and cultural sciences
  • Dr. Theresa Tobin, associate dean for academic affairs and student development
  • Dr. Robert Smith, Harry G. John Professor of History and director of CURTO (the Center for Urban Research, Teaching and Outreach)

The award grants up to $20,000, which this group of professors will put toward their project, “Bringing Mass Incarceration into the Classroom: Expanding the Blended Course Model,” which brings traditional Marquette students and current/former incarcerated students into the classroom together.

“This expansion of the ‘blended-course’ model exemplifies our guiding values and contributes to Marquette’s efforts to address mass incarceration and reentry in the Milwaukee area,” Provost Kimo Ah Yun. said. “These courses will create important pathways to higher education for current and released prisoners and are a high impact educational practice for both types of students.”

The Way Klingler Teaching Enhancement Award is an annual award given to a team of two or more faculty members to develop, implement and evaluate a specific teaching project. One award of up to $20,000 is given to the selected project team for one fiscal year.