Graduate & Professional Studies, Nursing

Marquette Nursing’s Dr. Lisa Thiemann wins Program Director of the Year award

Faculty at the 2023 Doctor of Nursing Practice in Anesthesiology graduation ceremony.

Dr. Lisa Thiemann, Director of the Nurse Anesthesia Educational Program, received the 2023 Program Director of the Year award from the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (AANA) at the organization’s annual meeting.

It is the first time the award has gone to a program director in Wisconsin.

Thiemann joined Marquette in 2017 as the first-ever nurse anesthesiology program director. The program just graduated its third-ever class in a ceremony on Aug. 17.

Under Thiemann’s leadership, the number of clinical sites for anesthesiology students grew from six to 21. Her application also mentions oversight of an innovative curriculum, recruitment and development of faculty and prudent budget management as compelling reasons for the award.

“It is an honor and a privilege to receive this award,” Thiemann told AANA. “I am grateful to the AANA for recognizing me, and to all my colleagues in nurse anesthesia education who work tirelessly to ensure a solid future for our beloved profession.”

The award is the latest in a line of honors Thiemann has received from AANA. In 2022, AANA named Thiemann a fellow. She has served as both the senior director of professional practice and chief practice officer for AANA, as well as chief credentialing officer for the organization’s national certification board.

Click here for more information on the DNP Anesthesia program.