2023 faculty promotions announced

Marquette University promoted 38 faculty members to professor or associate professor with tenure, effective the fall 2023 semester. Additionally, 26 full-time participating faculty members were promoted to teaching professor, teaching associate professor, teaching assistant professor, clinical professor, clinical professor of law, clinical associate professor, associate professor of practice or clinical assistant professor. Between July 2022 and June 2023 16 faculty members’ emerita/emeritus status will have been conferred. 

Faculty promoted to professor 

Dr. Gerard Canavan, English
Dr. Dinorah Cortés-Veléz, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Dr. Jennifer Evans, Biomedical Sciences
Dr. Jill Guttormson, Nursing (effective November 2022)
Dr. Heather Hlavka, Social and Cultural Sciences
Dr. Krassimira Hristova, Biological Sciences
Dr. Praveen Madiraju, Computer Science
Dr. Marta Magiera, Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
Dr. Brooke Mayer, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Jodi Melamed, English
Dr. Andrew Meyer, Economics
Dr. Irfan Omar, Theology
Dr. Kevin Rich, Accounting
Dr. Martin St. Maurice, Biological Sciences
Dr. Lobat Tayebi, Dental Developmental Sciences
Dr. Leigh van den Kieboom, Educational Policy and Leadership
Dr. Philip Voglewede, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Jennica Webster, Management
Dr. Michael Zimmer, Computer Science
Dr. Amelia Zurcher, English 

Faculty promoted to associate professor with tenure 

Dr. Johnette (Jay) Caulfield, Management
Dr. Dora Clayton-Jones, Nursing
Rev. Ryan Duns, S.J., Theology
Dr. Melissa Gibson, Educational Policy and Leadership
Dr. Matthew Hearing, Biomedical Sciences
Dr. Jenya Iuzzini-Seigel, Speech Pathology and Audiology
Dr. Abiola Keller, Nursing
Mr. Alexander Lemann, Law
Dr. Alexandre Martins, Theology
Dr. Walter McDonald, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Michelle Medeiros, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Dr. Anthony Parolari, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Satish Puri, Computer Science
Dr. Somesh Roy, Mechanical Engineering
Dr. A.Jay Wagner, Journalism and Media Studies
Dr. Bin Wang, Finance
Dr. David Wangrow, Management
Dr. Katharine Ward, Theology 

Participating faculty promotions 

Dr. William Hirsch, Physics, is promoted to teaching professor. 

Promoted to teaching associate professor are Dr. Tyler Farrell, English; Dr. Paul Gagliardi, English; Dr. Kimberly Norden, Psychology; Dr. Matthew Neujahr, Theology; Dr. Michael Olson, Philosophy; Dr. Giordana Poggioli-Kaftan, Languages, Literatures and Cultures; Dr. Jacob Riyeff; English; and Dr. Christopher Stocker, Mathematical and Statistical Sciences. 

Promoted to teaching assistant professor are Ms. Ana Escudero, Languages, Literatures and Cultures; Ms. Jenna Green, English; Ms. Teresa Krejcarek, Languages, Literatures and Cultures; and Ms. Louise (LK) Pinhancos, Languages, Literatures and Cultures. 

Promoted to clinical professor are Dr. Christopher Dix, General Dental Sciences; Mr. Joshua Knox, Physician Assistant Studies; Dr. Christine Schindler, Nursing; and Ms. Mary Jo Wiemiller, Physician Assistant Studies. 

Mr. Nathaniel Hammons is promoted to clinical professor of law. 

Promoted to clinical associate professor are Dr. Callie Chiroff, Nursing; Dr. Sandra Kaebisch, Nursing; Dr. H. Keith Owsley, Physical Therapy; and Dr. Joan Totka, Nursing. 

Dr. David Haas, Physics, and Dr. Alexander Milovic, Marketing, are promoted to associate professor of practice. 

Promoted to clinical assistant professor are Dr. Sarah Davis and Dr. Heidi Paquette, both of Nursing. 

Faculty promoted to emeritus/emerita rank from July 2022 to Spring 2023 

Faculty promoted to professor emeritus/emerita from July 2022 to Spring 2023: 

Dr. David Clark, Economics
Dr. Nabeel Demerdash, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. H. Richard Friman, Political Science
Dr. Ana Garner, Journalism and Media Studies
Dr. Timothy Melchert, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology
Dr. Siddhartha Syam, Management 

Promoted to associate professor emeritus/emerita from July 2022 to Spring 2023 are: Dr. Julian Hills, Theology; Dr. James McGibany, Economics; Dr. Daniel Meissner, History; and Dr. Kathleen Rehbein, Management. 

Promoted to associate professor of law emeritus is Mr. Thomas Hammer. 

Promoted to associate professor of practice emeritus is Dr. Thomas Kaczmarek, Computer Science. 

Promoted to clinical professor emerita is Dr. Kim Halula, Speech Pathology and Audiology. 

Promoted to associate librarian emerita are Ms. Mary Frenn and Ms. Nia Schudson. 

Promoted to professional in residence emerita is Ms. Linda Menck, Strategic Communication. 

The emerita/emeritus rank takes effect upon retirement.