Metcalfe Chair proposals currently being accepted

Academic and co-curricular programs are invited to propose an educational leader, scholar-practitioner, researcher or social justice advocate to serve as the Metcalfe Chair for the 2022-23 academic year. 

The Metcalfe Chair is a non-residential visiting scholar of African American, Latinx or Native American heritage. In 1981, Marquette established this program to honor the legacy of Ralph H. Metcalfe Sr., a Marquette alumnus, Olympian and politician who graduated from the College of Liberal Arts in 1936.  

The purpose of the Metcalfe Chair is to highlight and amplify the scholarly voices of underrepresented ethnic groups. Since 1982, over 60 scholars have held the title of Ralph H. Metcalfe Chair, including Dr. Imani Perry, Dr. Kenneth Clark, Dr. Molefi Asante, Chinua Achebe, Dr. Theresa Perry, Bree Newsom, Rev. Jim Wallace and Dr. Barbara Ransby. 

Your department will host the scholar when on campus, which includes: 

  • Approval and support of your Dean or VP 
  • Planning and implementing programs for the Marquette community with attention to undergraduate and graduate students 
  • Planning at least one campus-wide event/lecture 
  • Promoting event(s)
  • Collaborating with the Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion and other co-sponsors 
  • Complete necessary contracts 

Successful proposals will be supported financially by the Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion. Departments or offices that would like to host future Metcalfe Chairs should email Dr. Chris Navia, vice president for inclusive excellence, with the subject line “Metcalfe Chair Proposal.”