Student Affairs announces recipients of student leadership awards

Student Affairs is proud to announce the recipients of the Contemplatives in Action Student Leadership Awards for academic year 2020-21.

This year marks 52 years that Student Affairs has recognized student leadership through an awards program. Student Affairs recognizes leadership aligned with the Leadership Development Model in the spirit of being a contemplative in action — one who’s leadership is expressed in service with and for others.

Students are recognized for their contributions to the Marquette and greater community in several leadership areas including: 

  • Faith that does justice 
  • Community and civic engagement 
  • Service for and with others 
  • Celebration and promotion of diversity and inclusion 
  • Social justice advocacy and education 
  • Mentorship and guidance 
  • Promotion of health and wellness  

Award recipients were celebrated in a program on Thursday, April 29along with recipients of student organization awards and sorority and fraternity life awards.

We are especially pleased to announce the recipient of the Andrew J. Thon Award for Leadership, which is awarded to a senior each year. This year’s recipient is Mario Walker, a senior in the Diederich College of Communication. 

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!