Community/Corporate Engaged Research Partnership Development Grant recipients announced

Dr. Ed de St. Aubin
Sharon McMurray

The Office of Economic Engagement (OEE) is proud to award Dr. Ed de St. Aubin, associate professor of psychology, and Sharon McMurray, executive director of Table of Saints, the OEE 2020 Community/Corporate Engaged Research Partnership Development Grant.  

Table of Saints seeks to help those who were incarcerated make a positive transitions into community and family life. With a focus on standing with God, Table of Saints helps returning citizens with their re-entry process so that they become upstanding community members.

de St. Aubin and McMurray will utilize the $5000 award to create a structured and compassionate program to facilitate the successful reentry for men living in the Booth and Kelly Houses—two transitional housing facilities in Milwaukee.

Throughout the reentry process, their goals will be to encourage men to:

  1. Distance themselves from crime
  2. Avoid unhealthy living habits
  3. Seek productivity in everyday life
  4. Find meaningful purpose in life/living

The Community/Corporate Engaged Research Partnership Development Grant provides a stipend to a faculty member and community organization or corporation to co-develop a new engaged research partnership that will address a mutually-identified need. The purpose of the stipend is to expand the number of bi-directional, engaged research partnerships.