Physical therapy professors receive prestigious state awards

Two faculty members in the Physical Therapy Department in the College of Health Sciences received awards from the Wisconsin Physical Therapy Association.

Dr. Donald Neumann, professor of physical therapy, was inducted into the WPTA Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame award recognizes individuals who have made lifelong contributions to the physical therapy profession as a member of the WPTA.

Neumann’s book, Human Kinesiology: Foundations for Rehabilitation, is considered the authoritative text on the topic of kinesiology and has been translated into eight languages. In addition, Neumann has contributed chapters to the medical textbook Gray’s Anatomy.

“I’m honored to receive this award,” Neumann said. “There are so many physical therapists who have done so much to advance our field, and to be counted among them is truly an honor.”

Dr. Tina Stoeckmann, clinical professor of physical therapy, received the WPTA Mentor Award, given to “an individual who has influenced and nurtured the development of PTs and/or PTAs in an outstanding or unique manner.”

Stoeckmann’s expertise is in neurological physical therapy rehabilitation. She has mentored students in rehabilitation services, and she created the Adaptive Abilities Club at Marquette, providing opportunities for students to work with people with neurological injuries to participate in sports like adaptive rugby, skiing and swimming. Stoeckmann was also instrumental in opening the Neuro Recovery Clinic at Marquette, the first clinic of its kind in Wisconsin. In addition, she worked with residents and clinical mentors in the PT Neuro Residency program, a partnership with the Zablocki VA Medical Center, for more than 10 years, and has mentored colleagues through ethical issues in their clinical practices for more than 20 years.

“I’d like to thank the WPTA for this award,” Stoeckmann said. “Helping people in the Adaptive Abilities Club and helping students discover a love for neurological physical therapy is its own reward, but recognition from the WPTA is an honor.”

“We’re proud of Tina and Don, and of the work of all our faculty in the Physical Therapy Department,” said Dr. Allison Hyngstrom, chair of physical therapy. “Their commitment to their profession and their contributions to the field of physical therapy go far beyond the classroom.”