Marquette chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society inducts 32 students

Marquette’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently elected 30 seniors and two juniors to its ranks. Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest academic honor society in the United States, and is often described as its most prestigious honor society, due to its long history and academic selectivity

Students are selected from across the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences by faculty members of the Marquette chapter. Students do not apply to the society, they are simply informed of their election and invited to join the society at an initiation ceremony in their senior spring. A select few, who have already made outstanding academic achievements, are elected as juniors.  

Although admission to Phi Beta Kappa is made on academic merit, GPA is not the only point of consideration. According to chapter bylaws, students must demonstrate “broad cultural interests, scholarly achievement and good character.” A deep and wide liberal education, which includes the study of logic or mathematics and at least an intermediate competency in a foreign language, are among the national society’s standards for membership. 

Due to COVID-19, Phi Beta Kappa will not be able to host its usual initiation ceremony for students and their parents this spring, but this has not diminished student interest in the society. “Each year, many students are elected who have never heard of the society,” said Dr. Michael Cover, chapter secretary and associate professor of theology. “This year, we’ve had just as much interest in joining — maybe even more. By their acceptance, students are recognizing that Phi Beta Kappa is an honor that transcends the collegiate setting and offers a lifetime network with intellectually engaged individuals in all professions.”

Chapter officers are also looking into other ways to help students celebrate their accomplishment. 

More about Phi Beta Kappa
Phi Beta Kappa counts among its members 17 United States presidents, including John Quincy Adams, Teddy and Franklin Roosevelt, Jimmy Carter and George H. W. Bush; 39 United States Supreme Court justices, including Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sandra Day O’Connor, Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Neil Gorsuch; authors including Nathaniel Hawthorne and John Updike; musicians, like Stephen Sondheim; entrepreneurs, like Amazon founder Jeff Bezos; politicians, including Henry Kissinger and Condoleezza Rice; and 140 Nobel Laureates.

This year’s elected students include: 


  • Amanda Nielson 
  • Andrea Ortiz 


  • Emily Arnold 
  • Jessica Bango 
  • Jessica Brown 
  • Emily Callahan 
  • Alexi Chabez 
  • Lindsay Clark 
  • Alex Cormier 
  • Selena Cotto 
  • Jana Ehlert 
  • Keeley Hayden 
  • Sam Hernandez 
  • Megan Holland 
  • Ellie Hope 
  • Kaitlin Johnstone 
  • Emily Lamberton 
  • Aishah Mahmood 
  • Bre Marchan 
  • Devin McCowan 
  • Sunaina Randhawa 
  • Marycruz Sanchez 
  • Ryan Seubert 
  • Emily Stowe 
  • Gabi Suliga 
  • Eleni Vareldzis 
  • Joia Wesley